Tales of a working man.

I am exhauuuusted.

Don’t get me wrong: first day at Sony was good, which I’ll get into in a second. But my commute is hell. A bus to a train, train to a shuttle, shuttle to Sony, and back again. In theory about an hour and a half each way, but closer to two if any of the three run slightly late. Anyhow, I’ll handle it for now, but Operation: Buy-A-Car-And-Move-Closer-To-The-101 needs to commence more quickly than I was originally planning. (If anyone in the Bay Area is selling a car, I am very interested.)

On to the job. Even after a scant few hours, I can already see how different it’s going to be on the other side of the industry coin. As a reviewer, the finality of your work can be frustrating — when you play a bad game, you know that readers are going to be playing the exact same thing, and it’s not always fun to break the news to people who had the same hype as you did. Never mind PR. Now, being a relevant cog somewhere in the development machine, missed opportunities can be amended, and feedback isn’t retrospective. It’s nice to be able to look forward, for a change. And man, it’s a good thing (for the sake of my gainful employment) that I can keep secrets when I need to (which is now all the time).

I definitely need to spice up my new cube, as the schwag my predecessor left isn’t the most exciting (three, count ’em THREE Death Jr. action figures, in original packaging!). I’ll bring in my SoTC figures when I can trust everyone on the floor beyond a shadow of a doubt. I’m also going to have to get used to using a PC again, after using a wonderful, magical Mac (like all Macs) for the last nine months or so of 1UPage. I miss Exposé like a kidnapped child; is there anything equivalent on this hellbox?

At least I didn’t clog up the toilet, like my first day at 1UP.

Speaking of something else entirely, check out:
My appearance on last week’s ListenUP,
Last week’s episode of CO-OP, and, of course,
My Rebel FM goodbye (and Phil’s goddamn touching send-off).

Also, I still have dozens and dozens of messages to respond to on 1UP, Facebook, Gmail, etc., and I will get to you, I promise. And thanks for all the Twitter luck.

That’s all for now, I’ll write some more jobby stuff when I’m not quite so tired and have a few more interesting tales of adjusting my chair and making hot chocolate. For now, LISTEN TO THE AMAZING NEW PHOENIX SONG.

Published in: on February 24, 2009 at 10:09 am  Comments (28)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://rocksolidaudio.wordpress.com/2009/02/24/tales-of-a-working-man/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

28 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. wooo! good luck! i have always enjoyed your insights on gameplay, and i’m looking forward to seeing your views shape the future of games in this generation.

  2. Hey Nick,

    thanks for linking to that song you have been talking about on twitter. It might be to much to ask, but I was wondering if sometime in the near future you can take a look at some of the stuff I have written and critique it. I understand if your busy or just don’t have the time, but it would be awesome to have my writing looked over by someone as well respected in the industry such as yourself. Just shoot me an e-mail if you are interested.

    Josh

  3. Nothing wrong with Windoze, matey. Bung on a copy of Dexpose2 and you’ll be away!

    http://lifehacker.com/389203/dexpose2-like-mac-expose-but-better

  4. Congrats on the new gig. Don’t forget who got you those SotC figures! 😉

  5. If you’re interested, I’ve been trying to sell my car for a while now. The Craigslist ad can be seen here:

    http://sfbay.craigslist.org/sfc/cto/1046123938.html

    Good luck with the new job.

  6. New Phoenix song is great. Didn’t know they had a new one coming out already.

    we seem to have similiar taste in music.

    Check out these guys:

    Kalle J: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qBEZA-_5mm8
    Lo-Fi-Fnk: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HncV97e62vE
    Parker Lewis: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IhRFng774pk
    The Embassy: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oseY8wEFLBM

    Your job sounds cool, even the long commute. I liked watching Mad Men (TV series); it made the idea of taking a train home from working, getting drunk on scotch seem way more awesome than it should be. They don’t serve scotch on shuttle buses though; Do they?

  7. I’m really happy you’re going off to evaluate PS3 (And PSP?) games. I only own a PS3 and judging by your podcast discussions and your current Now Playing list, your tastes are really similar to mine.

  8. You should not have told me about these SoTC figures. My life now seems empty and unfulfilled due to a lack of totally amazing mini-colossi. Damn you, sir. Damn you.

    (But kudos on the cool new gig.)

  9. Wow, Never heard Phoenix before but they are pretty great! Thanks!

  10. Glad to hear you feel good about the job. Sucks about the commute, but it is good that you are looking into fixing that, as a long commute can be a dealbreaker. Keep up the blogging.

  11. Ah they have you using a PC, good, they are bringing you back away from the Dark side :p

  12. Finality is actually something I would like more of in my day-to-day. I’ve got the mind-numbing, never ending stream of bits and pieces of work, and when I get to work on a project that does have a real “finished” point, I tend to find that pretty satisfying for a change. The grass is always greener, I suppose.

  13. My man I have been abusing Spaces. Expose is yesterday’s news.
    Okay okay okay. That’s nonsense.
    At first I was like Spaces? That’s just a clunkier version of Expose. Then I realized it’s Exponential Expose. It’s like having nineteen monitors and never having to minimize anything.
    Rock!
    Love the Olde Timey aesthetic.

  14. That first day commute sounds rough. Nothing like a little frustration/anxiety/stress BEFORE you even start your new job. Hang in there dude.

  15. I’ve always wanted a commute to game in the morning, just chillin’ on a train…

    But 3 hours a day is pretty ruthless.

  16. Congratulations on the new job, bud. Take care.

  17. Nicely done! Hopefully things will settle down in your new job soon. You’re in that new terrifying/exciting stage of employment and that can be a good thing. Hopefully you’ll make a big difference to some games, someday. Also, even more importantly, you’ll FEEL like you’ve made a big difference. Good luck! And continue to not clog the toilet! It’s just good office etiquette.

  18. Congrats and good luck with the new job. I’ll miss hearing you on the podcasts.

    Check out .Moneen. if you’ve never heard of them.

    Other songs to check out if you like that one…
    Don’t Ever Tell Locke What He Can’t Do
    The Song I Swore To Never Sing
    Life’s Too Short Little Ndugu

  19. nick man congrats on the new job, gonna miss your nasally voice on rebel.

  20. Congrats on the new job Nick, hang in there during your commute times, hopefully it’ll be well worth your time in the long run.

    I commuted from San Jose to SF everyday for about 1 1/2 years using Caltrain and I can say it was worth it for me. Great bunch of guys I worked with but unfortunately the company folded and couldn’t manage itself financially.

    I thank Caltrain for assisting my completions of games such as Advance Wars: Days of Ruin as well as TV shows as How I Met Your Mother Season 1 and 2. At least you’ll have more time on your hands to catch upon handheld games.

    It’s sad to hear you have failed to top off your first day with a clogging. Maybe you’ll get to bless the bathroom another time.

  21. I just wanted to say congrats, I have followed you through your time at 1Up and glad to see a new chapter start for you. Good Luck!

  22. If you’re using Vista you can check out hitting the windows key and tab key. Tap tab while holding the windows key will flip through the windows or you can just click on the one you want if you see it right away.

  23. Hey bring a copy of Retro Game Challenge for the 2 hour trip!

  24. Thanks for pointing out the new Phoenix song! I didnt know they were putting anything new out and it’s simply amazing…

  25. Remarkable write-up. Will you send me to more of your
    work.

  26. Fantastic blog post. Might you send me to more of your posts??

  27. Fascinating reading. Excellent points, well-made.
    I do believe you are just right there.

  28. Don’t want too skip a future blog posts…


Leave a Reply

