A proper welcome, and an explanation.

So, you’re probably here because I linked to this blog on my Twitter, or talked one of my bloggers-in-arms into doing so. Thanks for stopping by! I’m not really sure what I’ll be doing with this thing yet (and basically just threw it together to get started), but I wanted somewhere to continue writing publicly in some form, even if it’s just about music, or film, or my trip to the hat store. I won’t be writing about games too much, because…

…I got a job! A real, no-foolin’, honest-to-goodness gig. Specifically, at Sony, as a Product Evaluator. To clear up a couple of things: I’ll be staying in the Bay Area, commuting down to Foster City. I won’t be appearing on Rebel FM going forward, not because I won’t be local anymore, but because it’s a conflict of interest to chat about games on an independent podcast. Which is quite understandable. It was a really, really tough choice to move out of the gaming media, which I’ll write more about soon; I’m way excited about my new position, but don’t think it wasn’t a difficult decision. And to that point, I’m incredibly lucky to be receiving job offers at all in this economy, which I fully appreciate the reality of.

Also, as some have understandably mused, this isn’t a “glorified tester” position — I wouldn’t be taking something like that. Briefly, Sony’s Product Evaluators are a group of guys who check out games very early in the development cycle, and then work with the developer/publisher to improve their game, and best take advantage of Sony hardware. Or, so I gather; I’m sure I’ll have a better sense of the process when I’ve been doing it for a few weeks, but I’m quite excited to be able to have a hand, however small, in the development of a wide variety of games.

So, that’s it for now. I start next week, quite psyched, and glad there’s some light at the end of the tunnel after the decimation of a job I absolutely adored. I can only hope that all of my friends also find employment, and soon, and that everyone keeps following their various projects. I’ll be writing more soon, just wanted to kick things off.

And yes…I’ll be keeping the beard.

Published in: on February 19, 2009 at 12:26 pm  Comments (31)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://rocksolidaudio.wordpress.com/2009/02/19/a-proper-welcome-and-an-explanation/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

31 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Shave the beard, you hippie!

  2. Dude, first of all: Congrats!

    Second: see if you can change the font for the main text of your posts. Hoefler is great for titles, but an eyesore for long paragraphs. Not your fault I know, and it really won’t matter considering I’ll mostly be reading this in Google Reader, but that just jumped out at me.

  3. Congratulations, Nick. The new job sounds pretty cool and I’m sure you’ll be great at it.

    P.S. I’m glad to see someone else rocking Faraquet!

  4. Hi Nick. I currently have a neckbeard and am going to be growing it.

    You have made the wrong decision on your future. You should be opening a barbershop.

    Please include tips on how to style facial hair.

    Thanks

  5. I love the theme man. I used to use wordpress, and quite frankly I prefer the actual interface but I switched to blogger because WordPress.com doesn’t allow me to use certain widgets like twitter or amazon associates. Best of luck anyway mate.

  6. Congrats man that is awesome! Be nice to the coders, Programming is hard! All the best for the future! 🙂

  7. Congrats to you getting the job at Sony! Definitely not a bad thing to have in this economy, and if I were going to want to work at any first party, it’d definitely be Sony. They have a lot of great franchises there to draw from and such a huge amount of studios under their belt.

    Anyway, hopefully you can continue on with Rebel FM on the backlog. Keep rocking the beard, I’m keeping mine at least until the summer.

  8. Oh, interesting that you like “Trail of the Dead”, you should do a post sometime about your favorite bands.

  9. Contrats Nick! I’m not going to lie. You were my fav on the RebelFM podcast and your appearance on the show will be greatly missed. Its great to hear that you got a gig when times are rough though. Losing a job like all of you did had to of been a scary thing and its good to see that all of you are moving forward and branching out to better things. Looking forward to hearing from ya and hope the best of luck to ya!

  10. that is horrible news about rebel fm.

    good luck with your job, nonetheless.

  11. Sweet! Sounds like an awesome gig. Does this mean you’ll be evaluating the quality of God of War 3? I can’t wait to hear more about your experience working with Sony. 😀

  12. Awesome news for you. I do hate to hear that you will no longer be on the podcast, but I completely understand the reason. Don’t let the tyrants at Sony make you cut your beard!!! Coming from a facial hair afficianado like myself this would be a true tragedy. Best of luck on the new job!

  13. Congrats on the new job. I’ve really enjoyed your work in games media, and I wish you the best going forward in your new career.

  14. good to hear you’re doing well for yourself, nick.

  15. Steal the Team Ico game and run. You will be doing gamers a big favor.

  16. Congrats duder! I always believed in you!

  17. Hey Nick,

    You’re truly one of my favorite video game journalists, and I honestly think this new job decision is a bad choice in the long run.

    Now I’m not unreasonable though, yeah it’s a bad economy, you were unemployed, so it makes sense to get a job wherever you could as fast as possible. But I think you should get back into writing about games, or at least find a way to express your opinions on games, as fast as possible. I value your opinion and it’s a shame it won’t be around anymore.

    I’m not saying “you’ve sold out” or anything like that, I’m just urging you to switch back to a career that allows you to be more open. There’s a difference between working at EA or a major developer and Sony. With Sony, it’s probably pretty difficult to be on a podcast or anything, since you could never say anything bad about Ps3 versions of games, or criticize something like Playstation Home. But even if you got a job at EA or something, you could talk about all the other games not released by EA, and then just sit quietly when people bring up Mirror’s Edge or something.

    Anyway, I don’t want to be some troll who’s telling you how to run your life. I’m glad you’ll be able to afford the bills now. I’ll bookmark this blog, and I hope to see you around more often. Good luck man.

  18. Yay, congrats Nick. Hope it all goes well for you

    Dan

  19. Congrats, mighty bearded one.

  20. Just wanted to say congrats, EGM and your writings are part of the reason I myself want to get into this business. Best of luck

  21. Congrats on the job. Dont you think you could still do backlog though? its not a conflict of interest there all old games plz 🙂

  22. Congratulations! Sounds like quite an exciting position to be in!

  23. Perhaps it’s too early to know or to ask your boss, but I hope you’ll be able to keep showing up for the backlog. I don’t necessarily believe in this whole “can’t do podcasts anymore” thing. I’m a big fan of GeeksOn and the guys on there are all actors or video game professionals, and they still get to say and do what they want. I’m just suggesting its possible, and you’ll probably get a better grasp of what you can or can’t do in time. I would imagine you have friends who are in a similiar position who might have more info on it. I’m just suggesting things, here. You might just be exhausted from talking your head off about games every week, and I respect that too. We all want you back for the backlog, so I hope you figure things out.

    Keep things rock solid….uh…?

  24. btw, did you ever write for soundsect.com? Just asking since you are in the soundsect group on last.fm.

  25. heya Nick, congrats on the new job.

    btw, you should consider renaming your blog to The Beard. 😉

  26. i did indeed write for Soundsect.com, my good friend/ex-EB manager Richie runs it. off the top of my head, i wrote reviews for Aloha and Armalite albums.

    thanks everyone for being so damn nice!

  27. Oh, that’s really cool. I think I got an email from him a while ago about joining the site–he found me through my RYM account (you should join the site sometime, rateyourmusic.com). I would have done it in a heartbeat if I knew such an esteemed 1UP writer was on the site. Then again, that must’ve been from before you worked at 1UP?

    It would be cool if you made a post about how you got into the industry and any advice you would leave to those attempting to take your place (beard tips, not included). I know you guys went over it on 1UP mailbag before but it’d be nice to have it in writing with more clear thoughts in mind. Just a suggestion; I know this is a personal blog and not a dialogue, but I think people reading would like to know. Plus, it would serve as some sort of closure from one period of your life to the next.

  28. Hey Nick, I’m really sad to see you go. I liked you from the beginning at 1up, you seemed like a very genuine person who just liked games. I guess i didnt think about how Rebel FM might break up if you guys find jobs, but congrats man and I hope you visit back to talk about Haze 2.

    Farewell, Nick “THE BEARD!” Suttner

  29. Congratulations on the job and the best of luck for the future! Looking forward to seeing what you get up to on here.

    P.S. Name the beard. I suggest ‘Geoff’.

  30. Congrats on your new job. I hope you have lots of fun. Check out this game that Robert Ashley pointed out recently: http://runhello.com/
    Its called jumpman and it is like N+. Its free and I highly recommend it.

  31. Awesome man. Good luck!


Leave a Reply

